|1||1970 or older||Under 2,700 lbs.||$35.50|
|2||1970 or older||2,700 lbs. – 3,800 lbs.||$44.50|
|3||1970 or older||Over 3,800 lbs.||$65.50|
|4||1971 – 1979||Under 2,700 lbs.||$38.50|
|5||1971 – 1979||2,700 lbs. – 3,800 lbs.||$49.50|
|6||1971 – 1979||Over 3,800 lbs.||$72.50|
|7||older than 2 years||Under 3,500 lbs.||$46.50|
|7||within 2 years||Under 3,500 lbs.||$59.00|
|8||older than 2 years||Over 3,500 lbs.||$71.50|
|8||within 2 years||Over 3,500 lbs.||$84.00|
|9||older than 2 years||Commuter Van**||$71.50|
|9||within 2 years||Commuter Van**||$84.00|
Registering a vehicle in New Jersey and the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC)
In the State of New Jersey, drivers must have at least 17 years old to register a vehicle. The registration of a new vehicle is valid for four years. All other registrations (used cars) are generally valid for one year. Exceptions after expiration can be found at www.state.nj.us/mvc/.
The announcements and the forms you should send to renew the car registration are posted by the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), usually about 2 months before. Remember that you can’t drive without a valid registration, you can get a fine.
If you do not receive the notice, you can personally contact any MVC office and make the process there. You can also request the forms by telephone by telling them you didn’t get them.
The process can be made online (http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/), or by telephone 24 hours a day (877-368-6548). If you need change your address, it’s time to do so. In order to do that, you need a printed renewal form with a personal identification number (PIN). If you’ve lost it, you must go in person. Additionally, you’ll need the valid insurance ID card (compulsory coverage or higher) and a credit card.
If you send the form by mail, you must do so with a money order payable to MVC.