Nine states nationwide, including New York, require no fault insurance to be purchased as part of an auto insurance policy before being able to legally operate a vehicle. No fault insurance, commonly known as only personal injury protection coverage (PIP), helps protect all individuals who were injured in a car accident.
In New York, the no fault insurance law requires that drivers carry at least $50,000 in personal injury protection (PIP), at least $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL), and at least $25,000 in uninsured motorist coverage. In New York, this plan is typically called the 50-10-25 plan.
In addition to the required coverage however, drivers in New York are urged to buy additional protection. For example, additional personal injury protection (APIP) coverage will help drivers in the event that that $50,000 isn’t enough to cover all of the damages. APIP coverage can usually be purchased in additional increments of $50,000. APIP coverage can also be added on for lost wages and other expenses.
Typically, the default PIP protection only covers up to 80% of lost wages, but additional protection can cover up to 100%. Furthermore, APIP coverage offers out-of-state, no performance loss protection, which will cover guests or others that are in a collision while driving your car. Keep in mind though that out-of-state protection may not cover lost wages for guests or people other than you if they happen to be injured in an accident or collision.
If you have any questions regarding New York no fault car insurance, or if you need quotes for additional APIP insurance, be certain to visit the official New York Insurance-Department of Financial Services online website (DFS) where you can obtain information on new insurance laws in New York, perform a company search, get broker information, and more.