What if I get a DUI in Florida?

Driving under the influence in any state is a very dangerous and carries heavy penalties, especially in Florida. If you are pulled over and found to have a blood alcohol level of over .08%, you will be arrested on a DUI charge.  The state also has even tougher fines and penalties including jail time for those who are found to have over a .15% blood alcohol level. Florida also has an implied consent law that states that if you are pulled over for a suspicion on DUI and you refuse to take the breathalyzer, you will automatically lose your license for up to one year.

 

For the first time offender DUI offender in Florida whose blood alcohol level is found to be between 0.08 % and 0.15 %:

Up to 6 months behind bars

  • Up to a $1,000 fine
  • Up to a one year suspended license
  • Driving Under the Influence Classes
  • Up to 55 hours of community service
  • Ignition lock for six months

For the first time DUI offender in Florida whose blood alcohol level is found to be greater than 0.15 %:

  • Up to 9 months behind bars
  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • Up to a one year suspended license
  • Driving Under the Influence Classes
  • Up to 55 hours of community service
  • Ignition locking device for six months

For the second time DUI offender in Florida:

  • Up to one year behind bars
  • Mandatory fines of up to $4,000
  • Five year license suspension
  • Ignition locking device for up to two years

The best thing to do is to stay smart and have a designated driver whenever you know you will be drinking.

How much is insurance | Spanish Insurance | Insurance fraud in Florida | Florida Auto Insurance

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>